A SOLITARY goal from Joe Downey was enough for Lancelyn Glenavon to see off the challenge of 10 times previous winners Queens Park 1-0 in one of two Cheshire County FA Sunday Challenge cup ties that had been held over.

Corsair FC eased their way through to round three with a 4-0 win, thanks to Jason Bull with a double and one each for Leon Clarke and Kieran Donahue against Winnington Avenue.

It was goals galore in The Tony Houlihan League Memorial Challenge Cup round one.

Glenavon Athletic lost to Saughall FC despite a treble from from Alex Weston and a single from Tom Branscombe.

Finding the net for Saughall FC were Owen Kelsey with a perfect hatrick and a brace from Andy Noonan with Tom Ashcroft also adding his name to the 6-4 goals tally.

Barkers v Neston Photo: Bob Shaw

Barkers v Neston Photo: Bob Shaw

Ash Robinson bagged a pair in an impressive 2-1 win for Barkers Armchair over Neston United (Jay Roberts).

They will be joined in the hat for round three with Lions FC (David McElroy 2, Ameel Al Gamri) who disposed of AFC Raeburn (Daniel Piggott, Thomas Harrington) 3-2.

Second division basement club Silva Athletic (Nathan Fleeetwood, Martin Whalley) celebrated a 2-1 success over AFC Rangers (Billy Newman).

JPL Jets (Sam Jones, Liam McCrellis, Sam Parker, Thabo Mheba) shot down Parkgate St Germain 4-1. Bromborough Rake (Mike Jeffs 3, Kie Hughes, Kie Delaney) and Old Parks FC (Sammy Watkins, James Swidles, Alex Jones) defeated AFC Shaftes (Liam Massey Brown) 5-1 and Eagle Stirrup FC (Stuart Davies) 3-1 respectively.

Also through to the last 32 are Rockpoint, who had Liam Wheelan on target with a four goal haul supported by Dave Bowe, Kyle Bennett 2, John Pomphrett, Anthony Gardner, Lawrence Whelan and Jordan Chawlko after an 11-2 romp against Whitby Rangers.

The Premier Division Clubs will be in the second round draw as they are exempt from round one and could play Wellington FC (Tom Bradshaw, Archie Manger, Kieran Harris, Noah Lawrenson, Lewis Gouldson), who disposed of West Kirby United 5-0.

A double each for Callum McQuaid, Danny Chamely and Daryl Hellon gave Woodchurch Rovers a 6-4 win over AFC Park Road North, who had Ben Morris on the mark with a fine hat-trick and a single from Tyler Smith

Last season’s new kids on the block, New Ferry Rangers ,were knocked out by Bushell Grange Athletic 4-2 on penalties after a 0-0 draw.

The last two clubs to go through are Telegraph FC - soon to be known as Poulton Victoria FC - (Jacob Wedderburn, Tom Price, Dan Price) who had the upper hand over FC Prenton FC (George Woods) 3-1 and Wirral Radio (Owen Hulse, Tom Byrne, Jack Gibson, Ash McCoy) called the tune with North Wirral Saints (Lewis Hewson, Aaron Cairns) 4-2.

There was not much change in the Birkenhead Sunday League with four of the top five drawing.

Leaders Rock Ferry Social (Jack Brown 2, Chay Dysart) shared the honours in a 3-3 draw at Beehwood (Morgan Woods, Fenton Cavanagh, Mitch Duggan).

The rock boys lost their 100% record as did co-favourites Dock AFC, who were pegged back twice.

Haydn Cooper put Dock 1-0 up after 10 minutes, but Josh Dures equalised in the second half.

Dock then went ahead again, this time with a header from Adam Lea, and within two minutes Woodchurch drew level once more via Shay Roberts from a goalmouth scramble.

Here were two quality teams on show and with Woodchurch Hotel putting a huge dent in Dock AFC’s 100% record, it is going to be an very interesting season for the the Leagues’s Blue Riband Event, the Ryan ‘Gigsy’ Artherton Memorial Championship Trophy.

Great Float Sports & Social narrowly ran out 2-1 winners against Neston Nomads (Kasey Smith) in a close mid-table encounter.

Rivacre FC had a comfortable day in their encounter with FC Bidston, cruising to an 8-0 win.

Just one league match took place in Division Two and Victoria Colts sank high flying MSC Eastham 2-1 thanks to a Billy Harrison effort alied to an own goal.

AFC Tima, who posted a 4-0 result over Oval FC in Division Three, actually leapfrogged them to take pole position thanks to efforts from Mark Redgrift, Phill Bibby, Ryan Innes and Ussumane Jalo.