WALLASEY'S cricketers capped an excellent season by winning the Ray Digman Knockout Trophy at Formby's Cricket Path ground.

Wallasey contested the 20 over final after beating Formby in a tight semi final earlier in the day with the win matching them with Bootle, who were still reeling after being relegated from the ECB Premier League for the first time in their history.

Wallasey's Jamie Crawley was dismissed for 14 against Formby, but he made amends in the final by hitting a stunning 108 from 65 balls including nine fours and seven sixes.

Faced with a substantial target of 165, Bootle lost early wickets and were eventually dismissed for 105 with Harry Meehan taking four for 21 to give Wallasey their first win in the competition's final since 2003.

The previous day had seen Matthew Keogh's five for eight from seven overs help Wallasey wrap up their league season with a 68 run victory over Wigan to finish runners up to champions Northern.

New Brighton finished ninth after they completed their campaign with a heavy defeat at Ormskirk who amassed the huge total of 301for four declared from 46 overs. Phillip Lees top scored with 60 as the visitors were bowled out for 195.

Birkenhead Park will play in the Premier League next season after they claimed the runners up spot in Division One following a three wicket win over Old Xaverians. Satyajeet Bachhav's seven for 41 reduced Xavs to 132 all out before the same player struck an unbeaten 67 to kick off the celebrations.

Caldy's 100th anniversary year finished in style as they closed the season as Division Two champions after an eight wicket win over Southport Trinity.

Parkfield Liscard finished ninth after falling to their 13th defeat of the season at home to Maghull.