NEW Brighton lost the Cheshire Cup final to Chester Boughton Hall on Sunday as the Filkins Lane outfit won the trophy for the sixth time in nine seasons.

Lee Dixon top scored for Chester with 53 not out as his side reached 238 for six from their 40 overs.

There were two wickets apiece for Ashraf Nawab and Philip Lees but after losing Sebastian Boates for a duck in the first over of their reply, the Rakers were always struggling to reach the total.

Daniel Cooke (44) and Ashley Watkins (43) played their part but New Brighton subsided to 171 all out in the 36th over.

The defeat was the second over the weekend for New Brighton after they lost to Bootle in the side's Liverpool and District Premier League clash the previous day.

Nawab's five for 46 and David While's four for 73 restricted the visitors to 200 all out but the hosts were bowled out for 141 in reply.

Wallasey's faint hopes of winning the Premier League remain after they defeated Orrell Red Triangle by 39 runs.

Jamie Crawley top scored with 51 as Wallasey declared on 190 for eight after 55 overs before seven for 83 from Sumit Ruiker wrapped up a 39 run win that keeps Wallasey second behind leaders Northern.

In Division One, Birkenhead Park remain in contention for promotion after demolishing Liverpool by nine wickets at Aigburth.

Satyajeet Bachhav took five for 37 and then scored an unbeaten 33 as the visitors chased down the target of 93.

Caldy are top of Division Two after beating Prestatyn by 92 runs after they were bowled out for 184 at Paton Field.

The Welshmen were then dismissed for 92 with Dan Hamm picking up three for 10.

96 from Zulqanain Khan helped Parkfield Liscard reach 170 all out in their match with Spring View who reached the target off 31 overs for the loss of five wickets.