THE final few ends of the Birkenhead and Wirral Afternoon League's Centenary Cup final at Oxton on Friday could not have been more tense as Heswall RBL and Capenhurst battled it out to try and get the winning point.

Capenhurst were given a 30-point handicap start and they fairly comfortably held onto a lead until the final two pairs were on the green.

Heswall's Jack Wilson and Chris Morrison did all they could to claw back a 15-point lead but they fell just one point short to lose by the agonizingly close margin of 193 points to192 and Capenhurst were the 2017 Centenary Cup winners.

For Heswall Chris Morrison, Colin Saville and Ritchie Jamieson all had good wins but Leo Jackson's 21-09 victory was ultimately the match winner for Capenhurst.

The Wallasey Association's Individual Merit Competition and the Junior Merit Competition will both take place on Sunday October 1 on the greens in Harrison Park.

Players wishing to enter should arrive at the green before 10.30am.

The entry fee for the Individual Merit is £5. It is open to all players registered in the Wallasey CGBA.

The Junior Competition is for players under the age of 18 who are registered in the Wallasey CGBA.