HARRISON Park secured a great victory over Higher Tranmere Vets in the final of the Birkenhead and District Afternoon Section's Shield final at Pensby Bowling Club.

Higher Tranmere aimed to win the trophy for a third successive year, but Harrison Park took full advantage of a 25-point start and held on to win by 203-193.

Higher Tranmere won three of the first four blocks, but Harrison Park hit back in the middle four, Howie Smith winning 21-14, to regain a 20-point lead with just the last two to play.

Mark Myles and Peter Hughes wins were not enough to give their team victory and Harrison Park regained the trophy they won in 2014.

In the Wallasey Association New Brighton Queens Royal confirmed won the Pairs League first division title with New Brighton Quarry Vikings finishing in second place.

Quarry Viking 'B' won the second division, Queens took the third division title while St Georges were winners in the third division.

In the Bebington League Pairs competition, Tixall's totally dominated the first division while Heswall RBL won the second division.

The other division winners were: Division 3 - Oxton Cons ‘B’. Division 4 – Port Sunlight Village and Works. Division 5 – Oxton Cons ‘C’. Division 6 – Thingwll. Division 7 – Pensby ‘C’.