FOUR of the major Wirral team bowls finals played this week.

In the first of these last Monday, the two top teams came together at the Albany Bowling Club in a 'clash of the Titans' to find the 2017 Birkenhead and Wirral League’s Cec Hanney Rose Bowl Champions.

Winners Tixall beat arch rivals Gladstone by just five points.

Gladstone made a great start and after the first four games they led by 16 points, mainly due to a superb 21-06 winning card by Steve Harrison.

The final score was Tixall 211 - Gladstone 206.

Just two days later, Heswall RBL 'B' and Oxton Conservative Club battled it out in the final of the Wirral Association's Frank Hurst trophy in a match played on Pensby's green.

The final score was Oxton Conservative Club 215 – Heswall RBL 'B' 214.

The Birkenhead and Wirral League's Cartwright Cup final was played on Friday and in this match Oxton Cons were bidding to follow up their earlier win and complete a double.

Trying to stop them and win the trophy for themselves were Upton Victory Hall and in this match the Upton team were given a 12-point handicap start.

Though the two teams had two winners each in the back four Upton's Tony Cavanagh's 21-09 victory enabled them to just scrape home by four points.

The final score was Upton Victory Hall 223 – Oxton Conservative Club 219.

On Saturday Tixall comfortably won the Bebington League's Leverhulme Cup with a 56-shot victory in the final over Ledsham Royal in a match played on the green at the Oxton Conservative Club.

Tixall dominated the match throughout. Their best performers were Robin May with a 21-08 win and Robert Rogers who won 21-09.

The final score was: Tixall 236 – Ledsham Royal 180.

After clinching the Birkenhead 1st Division Gladstone have followed this success by also taking the top spot in the Bebington League's 'A' Division; Tixall again finished in second place.

Port Sunlight Village and Works have come first in the 'B' Division and gained promotion to the top tier while Albany 'B' have won the 'C' Division.

On Sunday Matthew Gilmore retained the Wallasey Association’s Tony Vyskocil Memorial Trophy beating Danny Worrall 21-10 in the final at Manor Road.