SAILING ROUND-UP by Andrew Stratton

WIND played tricks during West Kirby Sailing Club's Annual Regatta on Saturday, but it did not detract from a successful event supported by nearly 90 yachts and dinghies.

Trophies were at stake for several of the home-based classes. John Begley in Mercury claimed the McWhor Cup for the Stars, Mike Hartley in Harrier took the Point of Air Cup for the Falcons, while Joe Bethell sailed Hilsa to success in the Hilbres to lift the Reid Salver.

Andy Hillyard was the only finisher in the Pocket Cruisers. The Hintons took the family prize.

Race winners:-

LBSA: Slipstream (C. Trantom, Dee).

Stars: Mercury (J. Begley, West Kirby).

Catamarans: El Loco (W. Thompson, Dee).

Falcons: Harrier (M. Hartley, West Kirby).

Operas: La Boheme (H. Chapman, Hoylake).

Pocket Cruiser: Trio (A. Hillyard, West Kirby).

GPs: Black of the Fleet (P. Johnson, West Kirby).

Handicap Dinghy - Division One: Contender (A. Potter, Dee); Division Two: Prudence (S. Chatten, West Kirby); Division Three: Cool as Ice (T. Corlett, West Kirby). Lasers: Mission Impossible (A. Bryson, West Kirby).

THE Dee Regatta on Sunday attracted 72 starters. Andy Bryson in the Lasers and Will Thompson in the Darts completed weekend doubles.

Dee winners:-

LBSA: Artful Dodger (T. Varley, Dee).

Darts: El Loco.

Handicap Cats: Just Perfect (S. Roberts, Dee).

Falcons: Hawkwind (J. Burthem, West Kirby).

Hilbres: Hie (J. Hoppins, West Kirby).

Stars: Stella (W. Creed, West Kirby).

Operas: Country Girl (M. Jones, Hoylake).

Lasers: Mission Impossible.

Mirrors: Deefender (A. Harris, Dee).

GPs: Gunpowder (P. Skinner, West Kirby).

Handicap Dinghy - Division One: Yeesubo (L. Potter, Dee). Division Two: Pandemonium (N. Meredith-Jones, West Kirby).

Converted for the new archive on 13 March 2001. Some images and formatting may have been lost in the conversion.