WIRRAL Council's elections take place tomorrow, but they will be very different this year.

A number of polling stations have moved to allow for covid-safe voting, while protocols such as asking people to bring their own pens have been introduced to reduce the risk of transmission at polling stations.

Every vote in Wirral Council's elections will be incredibly important this year, as the balance of power in the authority could significantly change.

In 2019, Labour lost its majority on the council due to Green Party and Conservative gains, making the politics of the authority far more uncertain.

But Labour has 32 of Wirral's 66 councillors, meaning just two gains would see the party retake its majority.

On the other hand, a bad night for Labour could see it lose more seats and the put pressure on new leader Janette Williamson.

In several seats just a small number of votes could turn the tide and the pandemic and peculiar postal voting numbers mean nothing can be taken for granted.

For a full list of candidates at Wirral Council’s elections click here https://www.wirralglobe.co.uk/news/19229598.candidates-next-months-wirral-council-elections/.

If you have not returned your postal vote yet, you can take it to a polling station tomorrow and it will be counted.

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm tomorrow and you do not need your polling card or ID to vote.

Emergency proxy votes can be arranged until 5pm on Election Day.

You can apply for an emergency proxy if:

  • You have a medical emergency after the deadline that means you cannot go to the polling station in person
  • Your occupation, service or employment means that you cannot go to the polling station in person, and you only become aware of that fact after the deadline

To apply for an emergency proxy vote call Wirral Council on 0151 691 8046.

Polling stations in Wirral tomorrow are, as follows:

  • Grange URC Hall,    Kings Lane,    Bebington
  • Town Lane Infant School, Town Lane, Bebington
  • St Andrews C of E Primary School, Townfield Lane, Bebington
  • Brackenwood Junior School, Norbury Avenue, Bebington
  • Victoria Hall, Victoria Hall Walk, Higher Bebington
  • Little Centre Beechwood Ltd, Fifth Avenue, Beechwood
  • Bidston Village C of E Primary School, Ballantyne Drive, Bidston
  • Holy Cross Catholic Primary School, Gautby Road, Bidston
  • St James Centre, Laird Street, Birkenhead
  • Our Lady & St Edward Catholic Primary School,    Old Bidston Road,     Bidston
  • The Priory C of E Primary School, Trinity Street Entrance, Birkenhead
  • Wirral Multicultural Centre, 111 Conway Street, Birkenhead
  • Birkenhead Town Hall, Hamilton Square, Birkenhead
  • Birkenhead Central Library, Borough Road, Birkenhead
  • The Woodlands Primary School, Hollybank Road, Birkenhead
  • Kings Church, Victoria Fields, Birkenhead
  • Mersey Park Primary School, Elm Road, Tranmere
  • New Ferry Village Hall, Grove Street, New Ferry
  • Church Drive Primary School,    Church Drive, Port Sunlight
  • Former Dig It Community Project Building, Rear of Fire Station, Dock Road South
  • Co-op Academy Woodslee, Croft Avenue, Bromborough
  • Bromborough Civic Centre, Allport Lane, Bromborough
  • Stanton Road Primary School,    Stanton Road, Clatterbridge
  • Holy Trinity Church, Chorley Way, Spital
  • Brookhurst Primary School, Brookhurst Road, Clatterbridge
  • All Saints Church Hall, Church Road, Thornton Hough
  • St Peter's Catholic Primary School, St Peters Way, Claughton
  • St Andrews Church Centre, Moorfield Avenue, Noctorum
  • Bidston Avenue Primary School, Bidston Avenue Entrance, Claughton
  • Birkenhead Quaker Meeting House, Park Road South, Birkenhead
  • Sea Cadet Unit, Park Road East, Birkenhead
  • Bromborough Methodist Church, 175 Allport Lane, Bromborough
  • Scout Hut, Ferry Road, Eastham
  • Heygarth Primary School, Heygarth Road, Eastham
  • Chapel of the Holy Spirit, 107 Eastham Rake, Eastham
  • Delamere Community Centre, Delamere Avenue, Eastham
  • Greasby Infant School, Hall Drive, Greasby
  • Greasby Methodist Church Hall, Pickerill Road, Greasby
  • Irby Methodist Church Hall, Mill Hill Road, Irby
  • Irby Primary School, Coombe Road, Irby
  • Barnston Primary School, Sandham Grove,    Heswall
  • Gayton Primary School,    Gayton Road, Heswall
  • Heswall Royal British Legion,    78 Pensby Road, Heswall
  • St Peters Parish Centre, Village Road, Heswall
  • St Johns Church Centre,    School Lane, Meols
  • The Parade Hoylake Community Centre, Hoyle Road, Hoylake
  • Hope Church Wirral, Station Road, Hoylake
  • West Kirby Methodist Church,    29A Westbourne Road, West Kirby
  • New Brighton Rugby Club, Reeds Lane, Leasowe
  • The Millennium Centre,    Twickenham Drive, Leasowe
  • Eastway Family Centre, Eastway, Moreton
  • Sacred Heart Parish Centre, Hoylake Road,    Moreton
  • Sandbrook Primary School, Stavordale Road, Moreton
  • Marlowe Road URC Hall (Station A), Marlowe Road, Wallasey
  • Marlowe Road URC Hall (Station B), Marlowe Road, Wallasey
  • Grosvenor Ballroom, Grosvenor Street, Wallasey
  • The Old Egremont Mission, Guildford Street,Wallasey
  • Christchurch Parish Centre, Upton Road, Moreton
  • Moreton Community Centre, Maryland Lane, Moreton
  • Moreton Baptist Church, 326 Hoylake Road, Moreton
  • The Grange Public House Function Room,    Hoylake Road/Acton Lane
  • St Marys Church Centre,    127-129 Saughall Massie Road, Upton
  • SS Peter & Paul Catholic Primary School, Atherton Street, New Brighton
  • New Brighton Primary School,    Vaughan Road, New Brighton
  • Earlston Library, Earlston Road, Wallasey
  • Liscard Primary School, Withens Lane, Wallasey
  • Sea Cadet Training HQ, Victoria Road, New Brighton
  • The McAllester Pavilion, L C McAllester Memorial Field, Bidston Road
  • Oxton St Saviours C of E Primary School, Holm Lane, Oxton
  • St Josephs Catholic Primary School, Fairview Road, Oxton
  • Christ Church Hall, Bessborough Road, Oxton
  • Thingwall Primary School, Pensby Road, Thingwall
  • Emmanuel Church, Heswall Mount, Pensby
  • Pensby Primary School, Greenbank Drive, Pensby
  • The Hope Centre, Fishers Lane, Pensby
  • Christ Church Hall, Barnston Road, Barnston
  • St Stephens Church Hall, Prenton Lane, Prenton
  • Prenton Primary School,    Bramwell Avenue,     Prenton
  • Dixie Suite,    Tranmere Rovers FC, via Borough Road
  • Devonshire Park Primary School, Temple Road, Prenton
  • Bedford Drive Primary School, Hesketh Avenue,    Rock Ferry
  • Rock Ferry Library (community hall), Old Chester Road
  • The Barnabas Room, St Peters Church, St Peters Road
  • Highfield URC Schoolroom, Rock Lane West, Rock Ferry
  • Riverside Primary School, Brighton Street,    Seacombe
  • Somerville Primary School, Northbrook Road, Seacombe
  • St Josephs Catholic Primary School, Wheatland Lane, Seacombe
  • Park Primary School, Love Lane, Wallasey
  • Overchurch Infant School, Moreton Road, Upton
  • Upton Victory Hall, Salacre Lane, Upton Village
  • Gilbrook School, off Glebe Hey Road, Woodchurch
  • Fender Primary School, New Hey Road, Upton
  • Woodchurch C of E Primary School,    Church Lane, Upton
  • Oldershaw Rugby Club Recreation Ground, Belvidere Road
  • Jubilee Church, 12 Hose Side Road, Wallasey
  • Wallasey URC Hall, front entrance, Wallasey Village
  • Greenleas Primary School, Green Lane, Wallasey
  • Wallasey Village Library, St Georges Road,    Wallasey
  • St Michaels Church Hall, Frankby Road - entrance From Queensbury
  • West Kirby Concourse, Grange Road, West Kirby
  • St Bridgets Centre    St Bridgets Lane, West Kirby
  • Dawpool C of E Primary School, School Lane, Thurstaston
  • Newton Village Hall, Grange Cross Lane, Newton