TEN Wirral schools have made it onto the shortlist for this year's prestigious Educate Awards.

The honours recognise the work of schools and colleges across Merseyside and Cheshire which are delivering outstanding education and helping students achieve their full potential.

The following Wirral schools have been shortlisted and will find out whether they are winners during the awards ceremony at Liverpool's Anglican Cathedral on Friday November 15.

  • Heswall Primary School for the Eco School project of the year
  • Riverside Primary School for Outstanding Arts in a Primary School
  • Wirral Grammar Boys and Wirral Grammar Girls for Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School
  • Ridgeway High School for Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School
  • South Deeside Primary School Federation (which includes Pensby Primary School, Barnston Primary School, Gayton Primary School, Heswall Primary School, Irby Primary School, Thingwall Primary School) for the Mental Health & Wellbeing Award

Kim O'Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: "Congratulations to the Wirral schools shortlisted for the Educate Awards 2019.

"Every year, the judges’ job gets harder as the entries from schools get better. Whether it is the arts, careers, sport or their commitment to mental health and wellbeing, we aim to recognise all areas of education and shine a spotlight on all the hard work that goes on in schools and colleges each academic year.

"We look forward celebrating with all the finalists and winners on the 15 November."

The full 2019 shortlist is as follows:

The Communication Award

  • Alsop High School, Liverpool
  • Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy, Runcorn
  • Whalley Range High School, Manchester

Eco School project of the year

  • All Saints Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Bedford Primary School, Bootle
  • Evelyn Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • Heswall Primary School, Wirral

Spirit of enterprise award

  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Damian's RC Science College, Tameside
  • St Oswald’s CE Primary School, Sefton

Innovative and creative literacy award

  • Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Parish Church of England Primary School, St Helens
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Succour Primary School, Widnes

SEND provision award

  • Abbot's Lea School, Liverpool
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • The Barlow RC High School, Manchester

STEM project of the year

  • Cardinal Langley School, Manchester
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Landgate School, Wigan

Outstanding arts in a primary school

  • Bedford Primary School, Sefton
  • Lister Junior School, Liverpool
  • Riverside Primary School, Wirral

Outstanding arts in a secondary school

  • Hillside High School, Sefton
  • St Julie's Catholic High School, Liverpool
  • The Belvedere Academy, Liverpool
  • Wirral Grammar Boys and Wirral Grammar Girls, Wirral

Career aspiration award

  • Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary School, Wigan
  • St Bede’s Catholic High School, Ormskirk

Community partnership award

  • Chorlton High School, Chorlton
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Haydock High School, Haydock
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool

Mental health and wellbeing award

  • Bickerstaffe Primary School, West Lancashire
  • Calderstones School, Liverpool
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Northwood Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • South Deeside Primary School Federation
  • St Mary’s and St Thomas C of E Primary School, St Helens

Innovation in education Award

  • St Vincent's School for Sensory Impairment, Liverpool
  • St Teresa of Lisiuex Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool
  • Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School
  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Mary’s RC Primary School, Manchester
  • The Belvedere Preparatory School, Liverpool

Outstanding commitment to sport in a secondary school

  • Cowley International School, St Helens
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Ridgeway High School, Wirral

Leadership team of the year

  • Wright Robinson College, Manchester
  • St Peter’s CE Primary School, Farnworth
  • Knowsley Lane Primary School, Knowsley

Teacher of the year

  • Adam Sirett, The Barlow RC High School, Manchester
  • Dr Carly Brooke, Liverpool Life Sciences UTC, Liverpool
  • Paul Edwards, Cowley College, St Helens
  • Stephen Hill, St Joseph’s RC Primary School, Oldham

School support star of the year

  • Elizabeth Clarke, Kings Leadership Academy, Liverpool
  • Katherine Lockley, St Thomas CE Primary School, Sefton
  • Kim Corrigan, Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Wendy Davenport, The Oldham Academy North, Oldham

Most inspirational 16-18 education provider

  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • Carmel College, St Helens
  • Robbie Fowler Education and Football Academy, Liverpool

Most inspirational secondary school

  • The Academy of St Francis of Assisi, Liverpool
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • The Hollins, Accrington

Most inspirational primary school

  • Alexandra Park Primary School, Stockport
  • Eldon Primary School, Preston
  • Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton
  • Valewood Primary School, Sefton

Wow recognition award

  • Chorlton High School, Manchester
  • Kirkby High School, Knowsley
  • Liverpool Life Science UTC
  • The Hollins, Accrington