The number of police officers in England and Wales has fallen by more than 20,000 in just EIGHT years.

We now have the lowest recorded number of police officers since the early 1980s – so how has this affected Merseyside?

Police Chief Commissioner Jane Kennedy has said on numerous occasions that the lower level of officers jeopardises public safety.

She said: “It is plain to any observer that police forces across England and Wales, and Merseyside in particular, do not have sufficient numbers of police officers and staff to maintain a safe level of service to the public.

“Four out of every five calls for help are not crime related but the still require a police response.

“For example, if an elderly person with Alzheimer’s goes missing only the police have the powers to find them.

“We simply don’t have enough police officers to respond as the public would hope and expect.”

Merseyside Police’s website lists all its community police officers, working within each area of the region.

How many are there where you live?


There are two hubs in Wirral, with a total of 68 community police officers currently serving the borough.

This is made up of four inspectors, seven sergeants, 15 constables and 42 PCSOs.

Kirkdale, Anfield, Everton, Fazakerley, Croxteth and Norris Green

These areas are referred to as Liverpool Hub One by Merseyside Police and this also includes Clubmoor and Warbreck.

There are 35 community police officers serving this hub; one inspector, four sergeants, nine constables and 23 PCSOs

Two of the nine constables specifically work in and around schools in the area.

West Derby, Knotty Ash, Kensington and Fairfield, Tuebrook,and Old Swan

These areas come under Merseyside Police’s Liverpool Hub Two, and this also includes Stoneycroft.

This hub has 34 community officers; one inspector, three sergeants, 11 constables and 19 PCSOs.

This area also has two constables who police schools.

Belle Vale, Childwall, Woolton, Allerton, Hunts Cross, Speke and Garston

These areas are referred to as Liverpool Hub Three by Merseyside Police and this also includes Netherley and Cressington.

This hub is served by 27 officers; one inspector, two sergeants, nine constables and 15 PCSOs.

Liverpool City Centre

The city centre is called Liverpool Hub Four by community policing teams, and this also includes Aigburth, Toxteth, Picton, Wavertree and Mossley Hill.

This area is served by 23 community officers; two inspectors, three sergeants, seven constables and 11 PCSOs.

Bootle, Crosby, Netherton and Maghull

These areas make up Merseyside Police’s Sefton Hub One – and this also includes Blundellsands, Seaforth and Litherland

Thirty seven community officers serve this hub; two inspectors, four sergeants, nine constables and 22 PCSOs.

Southport and Formby

Southport and Formby are known as Sefton Hub Two, and there are 26 community officers working here.

This can be broken down as two inspectors, three sergeants, six constables and 15 PCSOs.

Huyton, Kirkby, Prescot, Whiston and Halewood

These areas come under the Knowsley hub – which is served by 43 community officers; one inspector, four sergeants, 12 constables and 26 PCSOs

St Helens

The St Helens hub is made up not only of St Helens but also Eccleston, Rainhill, Sutton, Thatto Heath, Haydock and Rainford.

Two inspectors, five sergeants, 20 constables and 33 PCSOs – sixty officers in total – serve this hub.

What other police assistance do we have?

The above figures are just the community police officers serving Merseyside. This does not take into account many other officers and departments, such as detectives, response and resolution, matrix roads policing, special branch, intelligence officers and so on.

Where is my nearest police station?

There are 12 police stations in Merseyside that can be accessed by the public


Birkenhead Police Station, Mortimer Street, Birkenhead, CH41 5EU

Open Monday-Saturday 8am-10pm and Sundays 8am-5pm

Wallasey Police Station, Manor Road, Liscard CH44 1DA

Open 8am – 10pm, Monday to Saturday

North Liverpool:

St Anne Street Police Station, St Anne Street, Liverpool L3 3HJ

Open Monday-Saturday 8am-10pm and Sundays 8am-5pm

Walton Police Station, Walton Lane, Liverpool L4 5XF

Open 8am to 10pm, 6 days a week, closed Sundays

South Liverpool:

Admiral Street Police Station, Admiral Street, Liverpool L8 8JN

Open Monday-Saturday 8am-10pm and Sundays 8am-5pm

Speke Police Station, Ganworth Road, Speke, Liverpool L24 2XQ

Open 8am to 10pm, 6 days a week, closed all day Sunday.


Marsh Lane Police Station. Marsh Lane, Bootle, Merseyside L20 5BW

Open 8am-10pm Monday to Saturday, closed all day Sunday.

Southport Police Station, Albert Road, Southport, Merseyside PR9 0LL

Open 8am – 10pm Monday – Saturday and 8am-5pm Sundays


Huyton Police Station, Lathom Road, Huyton, Merseyside L36 9XU

Open Monday-Saturday 8am-10pm and Sundays 8am-5pm

Kirkby Police Station, St Chads Drive, Kirkby, Merseyside L32 8RF

Open 8am to 10pm, 6 days a week, closed all day Sunday.

St Helens:

St Helens Police Station, College Street, St Helens WA10 1TG

Open Monday-Saturday 8am-10pm and Sundays 8am-5pm

Newton Le Willows Police Station, Market Street Earlestown WA12 9BW

Open 8am to 10pm, 6 days a week, closed all day Sunday.

In an emergency, call 999.

If it is not an emergency, or for general enquiries, call 101.

Non-emergencies can also be reported online at