TIXALL, this season's Birkenhead and District first division Champions, had mixed fortunes in two cup finals during the last week.

In the first of these, the Wirral and District's Frank Hurst Trophy on Wednesday in Pensby, they had to try and overcome a 48 handicap against the Oxton Conservative Club.

With four winners in the first four, which included two single figure victories for Matt Gilmore and Peter Hammond, they had almost pulled this back and with another three winners in the middle four it looked all over for the Oxton Club.

However an amazing 21-07 victory for Oxton's Stuart Raybould gave his club fresh hope and with two more winners in the back four this meant that Oxton won by four points and they were presented with the trophy.

The second of Tixall's two finals brought them up against their old rivals Gladstone in the final of the Wirral and District's Dr. Dawson Victory Cup played on Saturday at Royden Hall.

Both teams were off scratch and in total contrast to Wednesday's game Tixall's first four all lost and Gladstone established an early 20 point lead.

However all the middle four games went Tixall's way and after eight matches had been played it was all square.

Both teams had two more winners but Tixall's Phil Lee won his game 21-11 and this just tipped the balance in favour of Tixalls and gave them a very close 222-216 victory.

The winners of the Charity Pairs tournament held at Albany were Cammell Lairds Peter Holian and Peter Miller who beat Ray Anderson and Jade McElnay of Albany in the final.

The beaten semi finalists were Upton's Tony Cavanagh and his granddaughter Mikey and Daniel and Frazer Jeffries both of Gladstone. The event raised £420 which was all donated to the McMillan Nurses and The Young Persons Cancer Charity.

Next Sunday, August 31, both the Wirral's two representative teams are in action.

The Birkenhead and District's Park's team is playing local rivals Cheshire; the home leg is at the Lever Club while the away leg is in Stockport. Both games get under way at 2pm.

The Wallasey Association's Federation match is against the East Lancashire team; the home leg is being played on the number three green in Harrison Park while the away leg is at the East Lancashire Cricket Club in Blackburn. Again the games start at 2pm. Victory on Sunday will almost certainly confirm the Wallasey Team as Champions of their league.

Apart from the Pairs fixtures being played in the Wallasey and Bebington Leagues the Evening fixtures have all too quickly come to an end.

The winners of the various leagues are as follows:

Birkenhead and Wirral Association: Division 1:- Tixall Division 2:- New Brighton Quarry Vikings 'B'

Division 3- Gladstone 'B'

Division 4:- New Brighton Quarry Vikings 'C'

Bebington and District League: A Division:- Gladstone B Division:- Heswall RBL 'B'

C Division:- Bromborough Pool 'B'

Wallasey Association: Division 1:- New Brighton Queens Royal Division 2:- Sacred Heart Division 3:- West Kirby Park