A WIRRAL science teacher described as an inspirational figure for his pupils has scooped a prestigious award at ” has scooped a prestigious education award.

Peter Fearon, who teaches land-based science at Bebington High Sports College, was named Teacher of the Year at the Educate Awards last night, Friday.

More than 500 guests gathered for the ceremony at the Anglican Cathedral.

The awards, sponsored by Connex Education, are now in their fourth year and celebrate the inspiring work that goes on inside and outside the school gates.

The judges described Peter as much more than a full time science teacher, but an inspirational figure for his pupils.

His devotion to the school farm, which was set up to help young people know where food is sourced, how it’s grown and the care needed for animals, is an asset to the school and is motivating children who may otherwise have been disengaged with traditional learning.

Bebington School Farm were also awarded a runners up certificate for the Career Aspiration award.

The Observatory School in Bidston was awarded the SEND Provision award for its transformation into a beacon of outstanding practice and achievement.

Clare Mount Specialist Sports College was recognised as a runner up in the competitive Most Inspirational Secondary School category, while Kilgarth School placed runners up for the Leadership Team of the Year award.

Liverpool actor Neil Fitzmaurice hosted the ceremony, while guests were treated to special performances by schools shortlisted for the outstanding arts awards.

On the night, 19 awards were handed out to schools in the Liverpool City Region, Lancashire and Cheshire. A great variety of projects and skills were represented, from entrepreneurial awareness, dazzling stage performances, creative literacy initiatives to inspiring community partnerships.   

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: “Every year the judges and I are blown away by the school’s entries and this year was no exception. It’s fantastic to award so many hard working schools and teachers who create such an engaging learning environment.

“Congratulations to all the winners and shortlisted schools, and thank you to each and every school that submitted an entry this year.”.